2018 (14)

March (6)

Febuary (5)

January (3)

2017 (89)

December (1)

November (13)

October (5)

September (2)

August (18)

July (5)

June (8)

May (10)

April (5)

March (9)

Febuary (9)

January (4)

2016 (60)

December (9)

November (10)

October (7)

September (12)

August (2)

July (4)

June (3)

May (4)

April (5)

March (1)

Febuary (1)

January (2)

2015 (20)

October (2)

September (1)

August (2)

July (3)

June (5)

May (3)

April (2)

March (1)

January (1)

2014 (16)

December (4)

November (1)

October (2)

September (2)

July (4)

June (2)

May (1)

Celebration of Sport Awards 2015

The Awards scheme, which launched in 2013, recognises leading sports people, coaches, events and teams from across the Scottish Borders.  The 2015 Awards was held on February 27th at the Peebles Hydro Hotel and featured eleven categories including Sports Personality of the Year and the induction of one of the region’s sporting greats into the Borders sporting Hall of Fame. Several of the Awards will be decided by a public vote.

Ewan Jackson, Chief Executive of Borders Sport and Leisure said: “This year’s event was a great success with over 200 guests attending the Awards ceremony. Thirteen Awards were presented over the twelve categories including Sports Personality, which was won by Samantha Kinghorn, and “Team of the Year” which was given to Hawick Hawks Floorball Club and it was great to see the delight and pride in the young players who received the award.  We are already planning for 2016 to ensure we identify the most inspiring nominees and continue build on the reputation of these Awards.”

The full list of 2015 winners is as follows:

Scottish Borders Sporting Hall of Fame Induction: Doddie Weir (Rugby) & Doug Niven (Motorsport)

Junior Sport Personality: Tara Mactaggart (Golf)

Coach of the Year:  Pippa Bell (Hockey)

Club of the Year: Fjordhus Reivers (Hockey)

Inspirational Performance of the Year *Public Vote: Samantha Kinghorn (Athletics)

Event of the Year: Jedburgh Border Games (Athletics)

Disability Sports Award: Alan Oliver (Badminton)

Team of the Year *Public Vote: Hawick Hawks Floorball Club

Service to Sport: David Laing

Positive Coaching Scotland Award: Hawick Youth Football Club (Football)

Worldwide Class Achievement Award: Scott Brash (Equestrian)

Sports Personality of the Year * Public Vote: Samantha Kinghorn (Athletics)