Untitled design (51)

Berwickshire trio claim top gong at Club Sport Awards

Three of Berwickshire’s biggest names shared the honour of Sports Personality of the Year at the Club Sport Awards held on Friday at the Duns Rugby Club.

Callum Smith, David Melrose and Samantha Kinghorn all received the award, the first Berwickshire Club Sport awards since 2019.

Celebrated along with charity Live Borders, Berwickshire was the last of four regional awards ceremony of the season, which see individuals and clubs recognised for their efforts within sport and in keeping the region more physically active.

Badminton star Callum Smith was awarded for competing in eight international events last season, including the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. Still just 20 years old, Callum has been Scotland’s senior number one player for the last three years.

Wheelchair curler David Melrose was recognised for his recent achievements, including representing Team GB at the Winter Paralympics in  Beijing in 2022.

Samantha Kinghorn was presented with her award following a huge couple of years at the elite level of wheelchair racing. In 2021, Samantha added to her growing list of honours at the Tokyo Olympics where she picked up a silver and bronze for the 400m and 100m races respectively.

This year, the 26 year-old qualified to compete in her third Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. Samantha finished third in the T54 class 1500m race at Birmingham, taking home the Commonwealth bronze medal.

Young golfer Callum Kenneally was awarded with the Junior Sports Personality of the Year. After breaking through for this maiden national win, Callum has gone on to win selection in a number of national teams and squads. Callum is now looking to pursue a golf scholarship to a US College to further test his talent.

For his contribution to the Duns Amateurs Football Club, Chris Burns was presented with one of the Service to Local Sport Awards.

For over three decades of work in Rally Car Racing and the Berwick and District Motor Club, Claire Mole was also recognised with the Service to Local Sport Awards.

Martin Aitchison was recognised for his work and achievements with the Eyemouth Boccia Club and the Borders Boccia Club, taking home the Disability Award.

After being crowned the A Division Champions, and just a few weeks ago claiming the Border Cup, Duns Football Club took home the Team of the Year award. For their work in steering Duns FC to these titles, James Brydon and Keith Wilson were awarded with the Coaches of the Year.

The Junior Coach of the Year award was shared between Gemma Fullerton and Finlay Rhind for their work coaching the Duns Junior Badminton Club.

Carolyn Allison (hockey), Moira Anderson (hockey), Jack Fletcher (motocross), and Chirnside Bowling Ladies Over 55’s were presented with Special Awards on the night.

A Special Achievement Award was also given to Emma Johnson who is the 2022 Scottish Tumbling Champion.

See the full image gallery here

2022 winners at a glance

Junior Coach of the Year – Finlay Rhind and Gemma Fullerton
Coach of the Year – James Brydon and Keith Wilson
Team of the Year – Duns Football Club
Service to Sport – Chris Burns and Claire Mole
Disability Award – Martin Aitchison
Junior Sports Personality of the Year – Callum Kenneally
Sports Personality of the Year – Callum Smith, David Melrose and Samantha Kinghorn
Special Award – Carolyn Allison, Jack Fletcher, Moira Anderson and Chirnside Bowling Ladies Over 55’s
Special Achievement Award – Emma Johnson