Untitled design (57)

Celebration of Sport winners recognised

On Friday 27 September at the Victoria Halls in Selkirk, the winners of this year’s Celebration of Sport titles were announced at a gala dinner hosted by Live Borders.

Close to 180 people were on hand at the event which celebrated the sporting achievements and contributions from people across the Scottish Borders.

Graeme Murdoch, Active Communities Manager for Live Borders said:

“This is the seventh Celebration of Sport event and, yet again, it has resulted in a hugely diverse range of deserving winners and nominees.

“The event celebrates the achievements of individuals, teams, clubs, events and the heroes behind the scenes, all of whom contribute to the Borders sporting landscape and ensure that our communities are healthier, happier and stronger as a result.”

Watch a video from the night HERE

A total of 11 awards were presented across 11 categories which included Jim Jefferies being inducted to the Scottish Borders Sporting Hall of Fame and Doddie Weir and the My Name’5 Doddie Foundation who was a popular winner of the Inspirational Award.

Hawick Waverley FC took out the first of the public voted awards winning Team of the Year.

Also part of the public vote was Sports Personality of the Year which was taken out by rugby star Darcy Graham ahead of Sarah Robertson (hockey) and Joelle Murray (football).

Ewan Jackson, Chief Executive Live Borders, said:

“These awards celebrate everything that is good about Borders sport and the calibre and diverse range of nominees was once again exceptional.

“Over the past 12 months, the sporting success stories within our region were at a premium with outstanding performances at global, national as well as local levels.

“All this would not be possible without the backing of schools, clubs, coaches, volunteers, parents, governing bodies, and of course the events themselves which provide opportunities for people to participate and excel at their level.

“Tonight, we celebrated the role and the commitment of these people who collaborate to make sport in the region as successful as it is.”

And the winners are:

Hall of Fame – Sponsored by Border Embroideries – Winner: Jim Jefferies (Football)

Sports Personality of the Year – Sponsored by Fantasy Prints – Winner: Darcy Graham (Rugby)

Junior Sports Personality of the Year – Sponsored by Gladstone Software – Winner: Ellie O’Hara (Athletics)

Coach of the Year – Sponsored by Finlaysons Contracts – Winner: Neil Renton (Athletics)

Junior Coach of the Year – sponsored by Marsh & Riddell – Christie Rout (Football & Athletics)

Team of the Year – Sponsored by Endsleigh Insurance – Winner: Hawick Waverley FC

Club of the Year – Sponsored by DFC – Winners: Kelso Wheelers Cycling Club

Disability Sports Award – sponsored by Powertec – Winner: David Melrose (Curling)

Service to Sport – Sponsored by Camerons Architects – Winner: Billy Brunton (Football)

Event of the Year – Sponsored by Jim Clark Motorsport Museum – Winner: British Motocross Championship Round 6 (Duns)

Inspiration Award – Sponsored by Origin Fitness – Winner: Doddie Weir and the My Name’5 Doddie Foundation

CLICK HERE to see the full gallery of images from the event.

Live Borders is a charity. Every penny you spend with us is reinvested into supporting active, creative and healthy communities in the Scottish Borders. 

Triangle Created with Sketch. Triangle Created with Sketch. Triangle Created with Sketch.

Celebration of Sport 2019

Watch a video from the night here