Tweeddale Museum & Gallery

The Chambers Institution was established by William Chambers, one of the founders of the famous publishing house, in 1859. This striking building is home to a museum and gallery which host a lively programme of exhibitions and events all year round. Take a look at our Museums & Galleries Guide 2018/19 to see what's on here and at our other venues throughout the Scottish Borders.

The Chambers Room houses the extraordinary plasterwork friezes commissioned by William Chambers alongside exhibitions looking at the history of Peebles and the surrounding area. The Gallery and The Museum Room host a vibrant programme of exhibitions ranging from visual arts through textiles to historical interest.

Festive Opening Hours

Please see below for our opening hours over Christmas and New Year: 

Monday 24 December closed
Tuesday 25 December closed
Wednesday 26 December closed
Thursday 27 December closed
Friday 28 December closed
Saturday 29 December closed
Sunday 30 December closed
Monday 31 December closed
Tuesday 1 January closed
Wednesday 2 January closed
Thursday 3 January Open 10:30-12:30 & 13:00-16:00
Friday 4 January Open 10:30-12:30 & 13:00-16:00

Access and Facilities

There is wheelchair access to The Museum Room and The Chambers Room via a lift to library.

Contact details

Chambers Institution
High Street
Peebles
EH45 8AG

Tel: 01721 724 820


Tot_Art_Masters.jpg