Hawick Museum

Hawick Museum's parkland location and fascinating displays reflect the endeavour of the town and its people. The objects and fine works of art collected are not just about Hawick but a window on the world.

The permanent displays allow many of our wonderful artifacts to be shown. The Jimmie Guthrie and Steve Hislop exhibitions make us a motorcyclists Mecca.

Nature displays and bygones of domestic life add variety, while four changing spaces, including the Scott Art Gallery, allow a lively series of art and museum exhibitions throughout the year.

The museum also houses the town's hand-painted war memorial inscriptions. Hawick Museum was founded in 1856 and has been in its present home, Wilton Lodge, since 1911.
Wilton Lodge is an 18th century mansion house, enlarged in the Victorian era then thoughtfully redesigned as the town's museum by Hawick Town Council after they purchased the building along with its surrounding grounds, now Wilton Lodge Park.

The restoration project for Wilton Lodge Park was funded by SBC and supported by The National Lottery Heritage Fund , these improvements were delivered in accordance with The Green Space Strategy.

Come and see the National Museums Scotland Exhibition on Ancient Egypt in Hawick Museum!

We have teamed up with National Museums Scotland to showcase our collections of the fascinating objects and hidden stories to reveal how ancient Egypt has captivated Scotland over the past 200 years. 

Find out about the impact of Egyptology through the lives of remarkable people whose work in the field helped to improve understanding of ancient Egyptian culture, including an archaeologist, artist and astronmer.

With objects ranging from ancient papyrus scrolls, mummified remains, photography of excavation sites, technical instruments, drawings and 5,000 year old bowls inscribed with hieroglyphs! Come along and explore National Museums Scotland and Hawick Museum collections with new learning and digital resources.

With funding from The National Lottery Heritage Fund and Weston Loan Programme with Art Fund. 

Discovering Ancient Egypt is on display at Hawick Museum from 8 March to 2 June 2019.

Access and Facilities

Wheelchair access to the ground floor and the Scott Gallery.


Contact details

Wilton Lodge Park

Tel: 01450 364 747